Skip to Content


Project Team

The National Educational Technology Plan (NETP) was developed under the leadership and guidance of Roberto J. Rodríguez, Assistant Secretary for the Office of Planning, Evaluation and Policy Development, Kristina Ishmael, Deputy Director of the Office of Educational Technology, Bernadette Adams, Senior Policy Advisor for the Office of Educational Technology, and Zac Chase, Digital Equity Fellow for the Office of Educational Technology at the U.S. Department of Education. Support for creating this document was provided by a coalition of organizations led by SETDA, including InnovateEDU, Learning Forward, Project Tomorrow, and Whiteboard Advisors.

Zac Chase of the Office of Educational Technology and Susan M. Bearden of InnovateEDU led development and writing. Other contributing writers were Beth Holland and Ellen Ullman. Ji Soo Song of the Office of Educational Technology provided support and technical assistance.

Julia Fallon, SETDA’s Executive Director, provided oversight and direction for SETDA’s leadership in the project’s primary contractor role. Also with SETDA, Sarah Edson served as project manager, and Jessica Chen provided administrative support. Ellen Ullman, Derek Baird, and Jonathan Yang helped with project communications, and former SETDA staff member, Bud Hunt, played a crucial role in developing the project proposal.

Julie Evans and Michelle Green, from Project Tomorrow, and Melinda George and Elizabeth Foster, from Learning Forward, served on the project steering committee and led the NETP listening sessions, interviews, and polls. Erin Mote, from InnovateEDU, also served on the project steering committee and provided oversight and direction for InnovateEDU’s work, including the marketing, communications, and design work by Tyler Behnke, Rachel Lorch, Diane Lotesto, and Laura McHugh. Evo Popoff, Thomas Rodgers, Kayla Kelly, and Liz Cohen, from Whiteboard Advisors, participated in the project’s steering committee and co-led the project’s communications and dissemination efforts.

The authors thank the experts interviewed for this guide: Paolo DeMaria, President and CEO, National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE); Dean Folkers, Director of Education, Data, and Technology, Council for Chief State School Officers (CCSSO); Cindy Marten, Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Education; Stacey McAdoo, Founder and Executive Director, Teach Plus (Arkansas); Frederick Brown, President and CEO, Learning Forward; Shawn Rubin, Executive Director, Highlander Institute; L. Earl Franks, Executive Director, National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP); Julia Fallon, Executive Director, SETDA; Alesha Daughtrey, President, Mira Education; Keith Krueger, CEO, Consortium for School Networking (CoSN); Shaun Kellogg, Interim Executive Director, Friday Institute for Educational Innovation; Richard Culatta, CEO, International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) and the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD); Vicki Phillips, CEO, The National Center on Education and the Economy (NCEE); Amber Oliver, Managing Director, Robinhood Learning and Technology Fund; Tom Arnett, Senior Research Fellow, Clayton Christensen Institute; Hiller Spires, Professor Emerita, Friday Institute for Educational Innovation; Sara Hall, Vice President of Innovation and Networks, All4Ed; Brandy Bixler, Digital Learning Specialist, Teacher Quality Department, National Education Association (NEA).

We are grateful to the hundreds of people who attended group listening sessions, conference workshops, and filled out polls associated with developing the NETP. Your contributions helped inform the development of this report.

Many thanks to the members of the Technical Working Group, who reviewed input from listening sessions, workshops, and external polls and provided invaluable feedback, writing, and examples from their experiences:

Greg Bagby

Coordinator of Instructional Technology Hamilton County Schools (TN)

Jal Mehta

Professor, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Bre Urness-Straight

Director, Educational Technology Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (WA)

James Basham

Professor, University of Kansas

Sophia Mendoza

Director, Instructional Technology Initiative, Los Angeles Unified School District

Carla Wade

Senior Director of External Relations, Consortium for School Networking (CoSN)

Beth Holland

Partner, Research & Measurement The Learning Accelerator (TLA)

David Miyashiro

Superintendent, Cajon Valley USD

Lu Young

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Next Generation Educational Partnerships, University of Kentucky College of Education

Mizuko Ito

Director, Connected Learning Lab University of California, Irvine

Jennifer Orr

Teacher, Fairfax County Schools (VA)

Melissa Lim

Technology Integration Specialist Portland Public Schools (OR)

Justin Reich

Associate Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology