Skip to Content


Project Team

The Home Access Playbook: Strategies for State Leaders Working to Bridge the Digital Divide for Students was developed under the guidance of Sara Trettin of the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Technology.

Support for the creation of this document was provided by Manhattan Strategy Group under the contract ED-ESE-15-A-0012/91990019F0395. Valuable support was provided by Shirley Eng, Ferddy Gedeon, Megan Lavalley, and Lisa Palacios.

Subject Matter Experts

We extend our thanks to our group of subject matter experts who reviewed drafts of the guide and provided invaluable feedback, writing, and examples from their experiences.

Alyssa Kenney, Director of Digital Access, Public Service Commission of Wisconsin

Tom Rolfes, Education IT Manager, State Office of the Chief Information Officer, Nebraska

Carla Wade, Digital Innovations Lead, Office of Teaching, Learning, and Assessment, Oregon Department of Education

Listening Session Participants

In addition, we would like to thank the state leaders that participated in a series of six listening sessions that informed the development of the Home Access Playbook. These conversations provided invaluable insight into the evolving digital equity challenges facing students, families and educators and the actions states are taking to expand home access.

Infrastructure – Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Nebraska Tom Rolfes, Nebraska Office of the Chief Information Officer
Ron Cone, Nebraska Educational Service Unit #10
Michigan Joe Polasek, Michigan Department of Education
Virginia Susan Clair, Virginia Department of Education
Wisconsin Alyssa Kenney, Wisconsin Public Service Commission
New Mexico John Chadwick, New Mexico Public Education Department
New Jersey Christopher Cox, New Jersey Department of Education

Training – Thursday, July 30, 2020

Oregon Carla Wade, Oregon Department of Education
Texas Henry Stokes, Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Maine Beth Lambert, Maine Department of Education
Montana Dylan Klapmeier, Montana Office of Public Instruction
Nevada Cindi Chang, Nevada Department of Education

Affordability & Sustainability – Monday, August 3, 2020

Louisiana Carol Mosley, Louisiana Department of Education
Wisconsin Kurt Kiefer, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Alaska Patience Frederiksen, Alaska Department of Education and Early Development/Libraries, Archives and Museums
California Geoff Belleau, California Department of Education
Texas Cindy Fisher, Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Partnerships – Tuesday, August 4, 2020

Nevada Jaynie Malorni, Nevada Department of Education
Washington Dennis Small, Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Michigan Ann-Marie Mapes, Michigan Department of Education
Ohio Evan Struble, State Library of Ohio
South Carolina Andrew Epting, South Carolina Department of Administration
Maine Peggy Schaffer, ConnectMaine
North Carolina Abigail Waldrupe, State Library of North Carolina
Texas Liz Philippi, Texas State Library & Archives Commission

Data – Wednesday, August 5, 2020

New Mexico Gar Clarke, New Mexico Department of Information Technology
Hawaii Brook Conner, Hawaii Department of Education
Arizona Nicole Umayam, Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records

Policy – Thursday, August 6, 2020

Louisiana Kim Nesmith, Louisiana Department of Education
Leslie Durham, Louisiana Office of the Governor
Ohio Tina Lyden, Connected Nation Ohio
Wendy Knapp, State Library of Ohio
Nebraska SuAnn Witt, Nebraska Department of Education