Skip to Content


Future Ready Schools: Empowering Educators Through Professional Learning toolkit was developed under the guidance of Richard Culatta and Bernadette Adams of the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Technology.

Darren Cambridge of the American Institute for Research and Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach of Powerful Learning Practice co-led toolkit development and drafting, including creation of video examples and case studies. Other contributing authors were Marshal Conley, Catherine Green, Michelle Perry, and Claudette Rasmussen of the American Institutes for Research. Lynn Holdheide provided advice and insightful feedback on drafts. Cathy Rasmussen and Lesa Rowe produced graphics and layout.

The primary technical working group for the Connected Educators project also provided key guidance and support. Members of the group include the following:

Al Byers
Assistant Executive Director of Government Partnerships and E-learning, National Science Teachers Association

Tom Carroll
President, National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future

Gavin Dykes
Associate Director, Future Lab (UK)

Andrew Gardner
Educational Technologist, Grades 3–5
The School, Columbia University

Anastasia Goodstein
Founder, Ypulse Media

Michael Horn
Cofounder and Executive Director of Education, Innosight Institute

Andrew Mandel
Vice President of Interactive Learning and Engagement, Teach for America

Mike Marriner
Cofounder, Roadtrip Nation

Shelley Pasnik
Director, Center for Children and Technology at the Education Development Center

Nichole Pinkard
Senior Research Associate and Assistant Professor, Center for Urban School Improvement, University of Chicago

Jennifer Preece
Professor and Dean
iSchool, University of Maryland

Linda Roberts
Senior Advisor, Apple and other leading companies

Patricia Wasley
Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, University of Washington

Etienne Wenger
Global thought leader, author and coauthor of seminal books on communities of practice